Football Clinches 3rd Straight FCS ADA APR Award

Schedule  Roster  Coaches  News  Ticket Information

JACKSON, Miss. – The Jackson State University football team clinched its third straight Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCA ADA) Academic Progress Rate Award (APR). The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 13 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score.

JSU led the SWAC’s football APR with a score of 977.

“The FCS ADA is committed to recognizing excellence in the classroom and retention with APR awards to FCS institutions and their football programs,” said FCA ADA President Mark Wilson.”

“These awards spotlight the mission of all FCS programs, embracing the academic progress of their student-athletes, who will become leaders off the field. Congratulations to all award winners.”

The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) member colleges and universities adopted a comprehensive academic reform package designed to improve the academic success and graduation of all student-athletes. The centerpiece of the package is the academic measurement for teams, known as the APR.  

The following institutions have been ranked in their respective conference with the highest APR score the past two years, Big Sky — UC Davis; Missouri Valley — Illinois State; Northeast — Bryant; Patriot League — College of the Holy Cross; Pioneer Football League — University of Dayton; Southern Conference — Wofford; Southwestern Athletic Conference — Jackson State University; and the Ivy League — Dartmouth.

About the FCS ADA: Now in its 23rd year, the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance Football Championship Subdivision football. For more information on the FCS ADA, please visit The FCS ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 52nd year. For more information on NACDA and the 17 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit

Leave a Reply